As I was reading “height” and “The Tall and the Short of it” it reminded me of the men in my life. My father is 5’11 and my brother is 5’4. Thinking back I can’t remember any situations my dad would complain about his height. At 5’11 he was tall enough to pass as masculine and didn’t need to make up for it in other ways. My brother on the other hand is very short. His height has always been a popular conversation within my family. He had wrestled for most of his life and was very serious about working out to build his muscles. Idhe talks about how he was one of the last kids chosen to play in sports because of his size. My brother went thru the same situation in grade school. No one wants a shrimpy kid on their team. As soon as he hit middle school he was going to put an end to that. Working out became a main priority for him; he had joined the wrestling team and began working out everyday. He always felt because he was so short he needed to prove he was masculine by bulking up. When he joined the wrestling team he proved to everyone that he could be masculine even without being tall.

Brand explains when he meets guys taller then him he hates them. Being taller would give other guys an automatic two strikes against them. This reminds me of my brother exactly. Any time I am with him I will hear at least make one comment about how tall another guy is. One of his very best friends happened to be 6’5 and towered over him. My brother became very confident in his body after middle school because of his strength but height will always be a sore subject for him. According to Idhe, masculine embodiment is still socially embedded. Reading these articles does make me wonder if it will ever be acceptable for men to be short. Luckily my tiny brother made the best of his situation but maybe one day short men can still be seen as masculine.

